How to turn off Discord's "[username] updated their status" notification

On Discord, you may sometimes receive a notification saying "[username] updated their status" when another user updates their status message.
This article clearly explains how to turn off notifications for status message updates.
Table of Contents
What the "[username] updated their status" notification means
The "[username] updated their status" notification that you may receive from the Discord app is a notification sent when another user's status changes.
In particular, it is sent as a push notification from the app when another user updates their custom status (status message).
At the time of writing, Discord mobile app has a setting to turn off status update notifications, but the desktop client does not have a corresponding setting.
How to turn off the notification
If you want to disable the "[username] updated their status" notification, you can change it from Discord's notification settings.
As mentioned above, at the time of writing the desktop client does not have a corresponding setting, so you can only change it in the mobile app version, and the setting for status update notifications must be changed by the recipient.
In other words, you can configure Discord so that you do not receive notifications when other users update their status, but note that you cannot configure Discord so that status update notifications are not sent to other users.
You can turn off status update notifications by following the steps below.
Open the settings in the Discord mobile app
Open the [Notifications] settings
Turn off [Status notifications]
![A screenshot of Discord's [Notifications] settings. The toggle switch for [Status notifications] [Status updates from people you talk to.] is highlighted with a red outline](/_next/image/?url=%2Fapi%2Fmedia%2Ffile%2Fdiscord-status-notification-settings-english.png&w=1920&q=75)
Notifications for when a status message is updated will be turned off
Conclusion
The "[username] updated their status" notification on Discord is a notification that you receive when another user updates their status message.
You cannot configure Discord so that status update notifications are not sent to other users, but you can configure Discord so that you do not receive notifications when other users update their status.
At the time of writing, there does not appear to be a corresponding setting in the desktop version of the Discord client, and you can change this setting only in the mobile app.
Share this article
Follow us for updates
Adding us to your preferred sources on Google makes it easier to find our articles on Google. Also, be sure to follow us on X and our RSS feed.
-1.png&w=1080&q=75)
I've been using JavaScript more than my native language since birth. I am nowhere and everywhere on the internet.
I build web apps and browser extensions in TypeScript as a web frontend programmer. I released Shadowban Scanner, a tool that detects shadowbans on X, and Restore Link Card, a tool that brings back link cards. Media outlets in Japan and abroad covered both tools. For iGEM 2023, I built the Wiki for Team Japan-United and helped the team win the Grand Prize. On my blog, I cover news about X and social media, test and troubleshoot bugs, and share frontend development insights.




![Screenshot of the VS Code settings screen with [Workbench > Experimental: Modern UI] highlighted by a red border](/_next/image/?url=%2Fapi%2Fmedia%2Ffile%2Fvs-code-experimental-modern-ui-setting.png&w=3840&q=75)







![Screenshot of [Accessibility, display, and languages] > [Display] > [Font size] in the X settings](/_next/image/?url=%2Fapi%2Fmedia%2Ffile%2Fx-android-font-size-settings-english.png&w=3840&q=75)